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Why Paid Leave Matters

• Minnesotans take care of each other. In our communities, 
families, and workplaces, we step up and help the people we 
care about. 

• Minnesota Paid Leave will support people when they need time 
to care for themselves and their loved ones. 

• Supporting your employees when they need time for leave builds 
connections in our families, communities, and workplaces, and 
improves employee retention, performance, and morale on the 
job. 

• Minnesota Paid Leave will help ensure Minnesotans don't need 
to choose between financial stability and being there for their 
families.
info.paidleave.mn.gov



Minnesota’s Paid Leave Law

• The Minnesota Paid Leave law, enacted in May 2023 and updated in May 2024, 
makes paid family and medical leave coverage available to Minnesota workers 
beginning Jan. 1, 2026.

• The law provides job protections and payments to individuals who take leave for 
a qualifying condition, such as to bond with a new child or for medical care for 
themselves and their loved ones.

• Minnesota Paid Leave will be funded by premiums made up of contributions 
from employees and employers, with employers responsible for paying these 
premiums to the state.

• The state will send payments directly to individuals on leave.

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Covered Leave

• Medical Leave: Up to 12 Weeks
• Medical: Leave to care for an individual’s own serious medical condition

• Family Leave: Up to 12 weeks
• Bonding: Leave to bond with an individual’s child during the first 12 months after the child’s 

birth or after the placement of the child through adoption or foster care.
• Caring: Leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition.
• Safety: Leave because of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the individual or 

individual’s family member.
• Active Duty: Leave because a family member is on active duty or has been notified of an 

impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces.
• Maximum of 20 weeks total leave in a benefit year.
• Qualifying conditions must last more than seven days and be certified by a health care provider 

or designated professional.



Covered Employees

Covered employees include:
• Full-time, part-time workers
• Most seasonal employees
• Owner-officers who draw a salary
• Agricultural workers
• Employees of religious organizations
• Temporary workers
• Student workers
• Employed family members
• First responders
• Elected and appointed officials 

Not covered, can opt in:

• Independent contractors

• Self-employed individuals

• Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

• Federal government employees

• Exempt seasonal employees

• Railroad employees

Covered employees include:

Not covered, can opt in:

Independent contractors

Self-employed individuals

Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

Federal government employees

Exempt seasonal employees

Railroad employees

Full-time, part-time workers

Most seasonal employees

Owner-officers who draw a 
salary

Agricultural workers

Employees of religious 
organizations

Temporary workers

Student workers

Employed family members

First responders

Elected and appointed officials 

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Paid Leave Wage Payments

• Paid Leave helps Minnesotans focus on what matters, 
whether that's caring for a child, recovering from an illness, 
or supporting a loved one.

• Minnesotans can get up to 90% of usual wages, up to a 
maximum of $1,372 per week (based on 2024 numbers). 

• Lower-wage workers get more support. If you earn less, 
you'll get a higher percentage of your paycheck covered 
while on leave.

• You must have earned at least 5.3% of the statewide average 
annual wage in the past year to be eligible ($3,700 in 2025).

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Paid Leave Job Protection

• Job protected leave improves employee retention, as workers can take 
the time they need to bond and care without having to choose 
between their job and their family. 

• An employee who has taken family or medical leave must be restored 
to the same position or an equivalent position with the same pay, 
status, benefits, length of service, and seniority as prior to the date of 
leave.

• Job protections for employees begin after 90 calendar days from the 
date of hire.

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Employer Roles and Responsibilities

Making Paid Leave Work



Building Paid Leave: Key Milestones

2024
• Public Comment on rulemaking 

for Paid Leave, summer, fall and 
winter 2024

• Quarterly wage reporting 
started Oct. 31, 2024

• Equivalent Plan guidance issued 
Dec. 17, 2024

2025
• Equivalent Plan applications 

open for employer exemptions 
in spring 2025

• Rules adopted mid-year

• Employers need to notify their 
employees about Paid Leave 
benefits by Dec. 1, 2025

2026
• Payroll Deductions start Jan. 1, 

2026

• Benefits and leave available to 
Minnesotans Jan. 1, 2026

• Small Business Assistance 
funding available Jan. 1, 2026

• First quarterly premium due by 
April 30, 2026

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Employers' Role in Paid Leave

• Reporting & Premiums

• Payroll deduction & premium payment

• Wage Reporting

• Educate & Inform

• Workforce Posters

• Individual Notifications

• Leave Administration

• Coordinate other leaves and payments to employees on leave

• Support return to work

• Collaborate & Improve

• Collaborate on how to operationalize the law

• Provide input on how to improve over time

As an employer, you play an important role in helping your employees learn about and access Paid Leave and in building an effective program.

info.paidleave.mn.gov

Reporting & Premiums

 Payroll deduction & premium payment

Wage Reporting

Educate & Inform

Workforce Posters

 Individual Notifications

Leave Administration

 Coordinate other leaves and payments to 
employees on leave

 Support return to work

Collaborate & Improve

 Collaborate on how to operationalize the law

 Provide input on how to improve over time

As an employer, you play an important role in helping your employees learn about and access Paid Leave 
and in building an effective program. 



Paid Leave Premiums

Paid Leave will be financed by 
premiums collected from employee 
payroll deductions and employer 
contributions. 

• When Paid Leave begins for Minnesotans 
in 2026, the premium rate will be .88%.

• The premium rate is applied on wages up 
to the Social Security cap ($176,100).

• The total premium rate covers both family 
leave and medical leave. 

info.paidleave.mn.gov

Pie chart showing the breakdown of 
the premium rates. The total premium 
is 0.88% of a person’s wages up to the 
social security cap. The premium for 
medical leave is 0.61% of a person’s 
wages up to the social security cap. 
The premium for family leave is 0.27% 
of a person’s wages up to the social 
security cap.



Sharing the Premiums

Premiums will be shared between 
employers and employees.

Chart showing the breakdown of paid leave 
premiums between family and medical leave and 
between employers and employees. The total 
premium is equal to 0.88% of someone's wages up 
to the social security cap. The Family Leave 
premium is equal to 0.27% of a person's wages up 
to the social security cap. Of that, employers must 
pay at least half the premium, or 0.135% of a 
person's wages up to the social security cap. 
Employers can deduct up to the other half, or 
0.135% of a person's wages up to the social 
security cap, from the person's paycheck. The 
Medical Leave premium is equal to 0.61% of a 
person's wages up to the social security cap. Of 
that, employers must pay at least half the 
premium, or 0.305% of a person's wages up to the 
social security cap. Employers can deduct up to the 
other half, or 0.305% of a person's wages up to the 
social security cap, from the person's paycheck. 

info.paidleave.mn.gov

• The first premiums are due by April 30, 
2026.

• Starting January 1, 2026, employers can 
deduct up to 50% of premiums from 
employee paychecks.

• Employers may choose to pay more than 
their required portion for some or all 
employees.



Small Employer Premiums

Small employers pay a 
reduced premium. 

• For small employers, their standard 
contribution is reduced by half.

• To qualify, an employer must have 
30 or fewer employees, and an 
average employee wage of 150% or 
less of the statewide average 
($107,016 in 2025).

• This reduced employer premium 
does not change the amount owed 
by employees.

Infographic showing how small employers 
pay less in premiums. For Family leave, 
standard employers have to pay at least 
0.135% of an employee's wages up to the 
social security cap. Small employers only 
have to pay 0.0675%, or half of what 
standard employers would pay. For 
Medical leave, standard employers have 
to pay at least 0.305% of an employees 
wages up to the social security cap. Small 
employers only have to pay 0.1525%, or 
half of what standard employers would 
pay. 



Reporting Wages

To determine if someone is eligible for Paid Leave 
payments, Minnesota employers need to report 
wage data for their employees.

• To make things easier for employers, Paid Leave 
is using the same online reporting system as 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) to collect wage 
data now, and premiums starting in 2026.

• Wages will be reported once per quarter using 
the current UI wage detail reporting process 
and format.

• As of February 1, employers have reported 
wages for more than 3.4 million employee 
records through the UI online portal.

Screenshot of the Minnesota 
Unemployment Insurance employer 
account log in page

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Your Employer Account

Making Paid Leave Work



Creating an Account

Who needs to create an account?

You do not have a UI account or
Some of your employees are not 
included in your UI wage account

info.paidleave.mn.gov

If all your employees are covered by Unemployment Insurance (UI), you do 
not need to take any new action. Your UI account has been converted into a 
joint UI & Paid Leave account.

You may need to create a Paid Leave Only Account if:



Paid Leave Employer Registration -- Background

• Leveraging UI
• Similarities, differences
• Basic overview of registration
• Questions



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 1

Most work in the state is covered by both UI and Paid Leave

Venn Diagram of one blue and one pink circle

Blue circle: UI Only

Pink Circle: Paid Leave

Center Overlaps almost completely: UI and Paid 
Leave



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 2

UI accounts become UI/Paid Leave Joint accounts

All employees covered by 
UI become covered by 
Joint UI/Paid Leave 
Account



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 3

Benefit of Joint UI/Paid Leave Accounts

• For most employers, no further action is necessary.
• Just keep reporting wage detail as you have.
• All the processes are the same and file formats are the same.
• If you use a Third-Party Administrator, they will just keep sending us files on 

your behalf.
• Paid Leave Premiums are not due until April 2026 which will be for wages paid 

during Q1 2026.



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 4

We are re-branding – www.uimn.org

Screenshot of the homepage of the Minnesota 
Unemployment Insurance website, with an 
arrow pointing to the information box for 
employers and agents

http://www.uimn.org/


UI to UI/Paid Leave 1

We are re-branding – www.uimn.org

Screenshot of the Minnesota Unemployment 
Insurance employer log in webpage. There are 
arrows on the screenshot pointing to the "paid 
leave" menu item in the sidebar, the page 
header reading "Welcome UI and Paid Leave 
Employers and Agents!", the option to register 
for an account, and a sidebar link to "Paid 
Leave Updates to UIMN.org."

http://www.uimn.org/


UI to UI/Paid Leave 2

Pick your current relationship to UI

Screenshot of the 
Minnesota Unemployment 

Insurance Paid Leave 
webpage. There is an 

arrow on the screenshot 
pointing to a link to the 
page "Getting started."

A screenshot of the Minnesota 
Unemployment Insurance 

Getting Started webpage. There 
are three main options for 

employers to select: All 
employees covered by UI, no 

employees covered by UI, some 
but not all employees covered 

by UI, and an option for 
employers who have questions. 



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 1

Aside from Joint UI/Paid Leave employer accounts, what are the 
other types?



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 2

No UI account? Make a Paid Leave Only account

No employees covered by UI becomes a Paid Leave 
ONLY account



Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 3

Only some employees covered by UI? 
Make a UI/Paid Leave Joint account and Paid Leave ONLY account

Some covered/noncovered employees by UI - 
you will need two accounts



Paid Leave Employer Registration 

Priority – Register employers that need a Paid Leave ONLY account



Start at the UI website: www.uimn.org

Screen shot of UI website homepage at uimn.org. There 
are two main sections, one for applicants and one for 
employers and agents. There is a yellow arrow pointing at 
the latter, which says "select employer and agents." 



Select Register for an Account

A screenshot of the Minnesota Unemployment 
Insurance "Welcome UI and Paid Leave Employers 
and Agents" webpage. There is a circle on the 
screenshot around the "I need to..." menu and the 
options for "Register for an account," "Report 
possible UI fraud," "Log into my account," and "Find 
workers."

Zoomed-in screen grab of the "I need to" section of 
the UI website, which includes links to Register for 
and Account, Report possible UI fraud, Log into my 
Account, and Find Workers. There is a circle around 
the option for employers under "Register for an 
account."



Employer Login Page

Employer login page

If you already have an account, you can 
login

• Review and update your information
• Submit wage detail
• Pay UI amounts due
• In April 2026, Paid Leave Premiums will be paid

here too

If you need a new account, select Register

Let’s select Register



Registering for a Paid Leave ONLY Account

• We need to gather some information to set up your account

• Your account will be set up based on the information you provide

• Read all the options and select the choices that fit your organization best

The following shows some key points in the process



Things you should have

1. Federal and state identification numbers. 

• Federal Employment Identification Number (FEIN), 

• Minnesota Department of Revenue Tax ID number. 

2. Business/organization information. Bullet points: 

• Type of business/organization (Sole proprietorship, LLC, corporation, etc.), 

• State and date of incorporation (if applicable. 

3. Information to determine program coverage and effective date: (hyperlink) What is coverage? 

• Date wages were paid for Minnesota employment (first payroll date), 

• Number of employees you are paying UI covered wages to in Minnesota, and 

• Number of employees you are paying Paid Leave covered wages to in Minnesota. 

4. Business/organization names and addresses. 

• "Legal Entity" man (as registered with the Secretary of State), 

• "Doing Business As" name (when different than "Legal Entity" name), 

• Physical address of business/organization (where work is done), 

• Business address for correspondence mailings (when different from business location). 

5. Owner/officer information. 

• Owner/officer/director name(s), home address, phone number, 

• Social security number(s) or FEIN, 5c. Percentage of ownership



The information that you enter matters

Tell us what you want to do – ultimately your responses during the 
registration process will determine your account type.

Screen shot of registration form question, "what would 
you like to do today?" with options to register for a joint 
UI/Paid Leave account, register for a Paid-Leave-Only 
account (which has an arrow pointing to it and is 
circled), already have a joint account and need a second 
Paid-Leave-Only account for employees not covered by 
UI, and Report a change of legal entity.



Screens that matter - Wages first paid

Have you paid wages in Minnesota?
• “Coverage” for both UI and Paid Leave starts when you make your first wage payment
• Enter the date you issued your first paycheck
• Paid Leave ONLY account?

• Enter the actual date if you know it
• If you don’t know the actual date, enter 7-1-2024

• All other types of employer registrations: enter the actual date wages first paid

Screen shot of registration form question, "Has the employer paid wages in Minnesota" with 
options for yes and no. Then another question, "What date were wages first paid?"



Screens that matter – Entity Type & Legal Entity Subtype

Select your Legal Entity Type
• Read the choices carefully

• Your choice on this page will determine the 
entity sub types available for you to choose

A screenshot of a form titled "Employer information." One of the questions on the form 
asks for the employer's legal entity subtype, with dropdown menu options of Privately 
Held, Privately Held - Family Farm Corporation, Privately Held - Fraternity/Sorority, and 
Publicly Traded



Screens that matter – Business type 

Business Type
• Narrows things down a bit 

more

• Select Agricultural or 
Domestic if that fits for you

• Select Only owner/officer if 
the only employees you will 
be reporting are the 
owner(s) and officer(s)

• Most employers – including 
religious organizations will 
select the fourth option

Screen shot of registration form question 
about Business type, with drop down options.



Screens that matter – Additional Questions

Business Type
• Narrows things down a bit 

more so you are registered 
for the correct type of an 
account

• The questions refer to the 
current or prior calendar 
year

• Read the choices carefully

• If none of the questions 
apply to you select the 
option at the bottom, 
“None of the above.”

A screenshot of an application form asking if certain situations apply to a 
business. It asks the following questions.

Have you paid 10 employees for 20 weeks, including family farm officers 
and workers age 16 and under? If yes, please provide the date this 
occurred. 

Have you paid $20,000 cash wages in a quarter, including wages to family 
farm officers and workers age 16 and under? If yes, please provide the date 
this occurred.

Have you paid 4 employees for 20 weeks, excluding family farm officers and 
workers age 16 and under? If yes, please provide the date this occurred.

Have you paid $20,000 cash and non-cash wages in a quarter, excluding 
wages to family farm officers and workers age 16 and under? If yes, please 
provide the date this occurred.

None of the above.



Screens that matter – Number of employees

How many employees covered 
by UI, how many covered by 
Paid Leave?
Enter the number for each

Enter zero if you selected “None of 
the above” on the previous page

If you enter a zero, we do not need 
a date
If you enter something other than 
zero, enter the date work was first 
performed in Minnesota

For Paid Leave, if you don’t know 
the date, and it was BEFORE 
7/1/2024, use 7/1/2024

Screen shot of registration form with questions 
about how many employees are covered by UI 
and by Paid Leave, and when covered services 
were first performed in Minnesota.



Screens that matter –Industry codes

We need to know 
what industry 
you are in
• There will be five 

steps

• Select the choice that 
fits best for you.

• Religious 
organizations are 
under “Other 
Services”

A question asking what industry a business is in. The options are:

1. Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting 2. Mining, Quarrying, and Oil and Gas Extraction 3. 
Utilities 4. Construction 5. Manufacturing 6. Wholesale Trade 7. Retail Trade 8. Transportation 
and Warehousing 9. Information 10. Finance and Insurance 11. Real Estate and Rental and 
Leasing 12. Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services 13. Management of Companies and 
Enterprises 14. Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation Services 
15. Educational Services 16. Health Care and Social Assistance 17. Arts Entertainment and 
Recreation 18. Accommodation and Food Services 19. Other Services (except Public 
Administration) 20. Public Administration 



Screens that matter –Person Responsible

Ownership needs to add up to 100% 
• For LLC and Corporations
• Total percent for all owners must equal 100% 
• It’s not unusual that a corporation would need 3 names, but most of these already have a 

joint account

Non-profit and Governmental entities 
• Officers, board members or persons responsible

Need
• Names
• Social Security Number
• Address



Confirmation with EAN

Confirmation Page
• We’ll confirm your Paid

Leave registration

• We’ll confirm your UI
registration – and tell
you your UI tax rate if
required

• Your Employer Account
Number for UI and
Paid Leave will be at
the bottom – keep this

Good job and thanks!

Screen shot of registration form completion page, with 
separate registration confirmation messages for Paid 
Leave and UI. There is a circle around Employee 
Account Number, and information on quarterly wage 
detail reports with the next due date.



Next Steps

We will mail you:

• Password

• UI/Paid Leave Determination 

• Paid Leave ONLY letter

Give us a day to review your account

Submit wage detail 



After you register

We will mail you a UI Determination and password (same letter)

Your UI Determination will show a UI tax rate of 0.00% if you are Paid Leave only.

We will mail you a Paid Leave Determination

It’s your account.
• You can review and make updates. 
• You can assign a third-party agent if you want to.
• You can submit wage detail
• You can make UI payments 
• In 2026, Paid Leave Payments

We know this process feels new for some folks, so we are reviewing all your data 
and correcting errors if we can. We may contact you if we have questions. 
Otherwise, you’re all set.



Need Help

Friends -- Most accountants and bookkeepers 
in your community work with UI regularly

Website --  www.uimn.org

Call: with any questions
651-296-6141
8am to 4:30 pm Mon-Fri
Press 4 to speak to a person

http://www.uimn.org


Help Make Paid Leave Work

Your partnership and experience help make Paid Leave work.

• Check out FAQs on our website: info.paidleave.mn.gov

• Register for a Paid Leave UI account: uimn.org/employers/

• Sign up for the Paid Leave updates: Minnesota Paid Leave Newsletter

• Send us questions: Paid Family and Medical Leave Question Form

• Watch for upcoming opportunities to engage and provide feedback on program and
product design

info.paidleave.mn.gov

https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/
https://uimn.org/employers/
https://mn.gov/deed/programs-services/paid-family/information/
https://deedmn.formstack.com/forms/paid_family_and_medical_leave


Thank you + Questions

Greg Norfleet | Minnesota Paid Leave

Amber Stowe| Minnesota Unemployment Insurance


	Minnesota Paid Leave
	Why Paid Leave Matters
	Minnesota’s Paid Leave Law
	Covered Leave
	Covered Employees
	Paid Leave Wage Payments
	Paid Leave Job Protection
	Employer Roles and Responsibilities
	Building Paid Leave: Key Milestones
	Employers' Role in Paid Leave
	Paid Leave Premiums
	Sharing the Premiums
	Small Employer Premiums
	Reporting Wages
	Your Employer Account
	Creating an Account
	Paid Leave Employer Registration -- Background
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 1
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 2
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 3
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background 4
	UI to UI/Paid Leave 1
	UI to UI/Paid Leave 2
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 1
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 2
	Paid Leave Employer Registration – Background Slide 3
	Paid Leave Employer Registration 
	Start at the UI website: www.uimn.org
	Select Register for an Account
	Employer Login Page
	Registering for a Paid Leave ONLY Account
	Things you should have
	The information that you enter matters
	Screens that matter - Wages first paid
	Screens that matter – Entity Type & Legal Entity Subtype
	Screens that matter – Business type 
	Screens that matter – Additional Questions
	Screens that matter – Number of employees
	Screens that matter –Industry codes
	Screens that matter –Person Responsible
	Confirmation with EAN
	Next Steps
	After you register
	Need Help
	Help Make Paid Leave Work
	Thank you + Questions
	Help us improve!

